Office of the Arizona Governor Doug Ducey
Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family

About Us

About

The Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family (GOYFF) is a cabinet level agency that administers state and federal grant programs and engages stakeholders across all sectors throughout the state to improve services and service delivery to our citizens. Through a trauma-informed lens, GOYFF develops programs, coalitions, strategies, and initiatives to support the Governor's priorities related to substance abuse, human trafficking, sexual and domestic violence, child well-being, and juvenile justice. GOYFF also serves as the Governor's faith based office and administers the state's AmeriCorps program. As part of our work, GOYFF staffs and convenes eight of the Governor's councils and commissions: 

1) The Arizona Substance Abuse Partnership 

2) The Arizona Human Trafficking Council 

3) The Arizona Juvenile Justice Commission 

4) The Commission to Prevent Violence Against Women 

5) The Arizona Parents Commission 

6) The Governor's Youth Commission 

7) The Council on Child Safety and Family Empowerment 

8) The Governor's Commission on Service and Volunteerism 

Vision

Strengthen the health and safety of Arizona's communities through collaboration and capacity building across the state. 

Mission

Develop and implement programs, strategies. and initiatives to strengthen the continuum of services in communities through partnerships with community, faith, private, public, and tribal partners. 

Meet our Director!

Maria Cristina Fuentes serves as Director of the Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family.

GOYFF serves vulnerable communities to help prevent and address 5 key areas: child safety, human trafficking, domestic and sexual violence, juvenile justice and substance abuse. Additionally, the office works to strengthen service and volunteerism through the AmeriCorps program and faith-based community engagement.

Previous to Ms. Fuentes appointment, she worked at Casey Family Programs, where she furthered the foundation’s mission to safely reduce the number of children in foster care and improve well-being outcomes of children and families.

Before Ms. Fuentes time at Casey Family Programs, Fuentes served six years in the Administration of President George W. Bush in the U.S. Departments of Labor and Justice. Ms. Fuentes also served in the White House Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives working to help states across the country develop and establish their own faith-based initiatives.

To request to have Director Maria Cristina Fuentes to speak at your event click here.  

Executive Summary

The Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family's Strategic Plan reflects goals to be accomplished in five key areas: 

Goal 1: Integrate continuous quality improvement into agency operations to streamline and optimize our organization. GOYFF began implementation of Arizona Management System (AMS) in February of 2018 and projects full implementation in the third quarter of 2018 resulting in standard work. 

Goal 2: Optimize grant management through standardization of protocols and processes which will increase timely sub-grantee reimbursement; augment GOYFF funding streams; conduct compliance site visits; and facilitate timely submission of required grant reports. 

Goal 3: Strengthen relationships and programs with key stakeholders including state agencies, local governments, Tribal Nations and communities, faith and communitybased organizations, philanthropy, and other service providers. This will be accomplished through improved standard work, implementation of GOYFF Tribal COnsultation, and increased AmeriCorps positions across the state. 

Goal 4: Enhance GOYFF staff producitivity and service delivery through shared accountability. 

Goal 5: Transform Arizona's agencies and partners into a trauma-informed and family-focused service delivery system. GOYFF will support partners in the development of action plans to decrease the incidence of Adverse Childhood Experiences and increase trauma informed services. 

Tribal Consultation Policy

Pursuant to A.R.S. 41-2051, each state agency shall develop and implement tribal consultation policies to guide the agency's work and interaction with the tribal nations of this state. This policy establishes basic principles for the business relationship between the Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family (GOYFF) and the Tribal Governments in the State of Arizona. 

Register for the 2018 Tribal Consultation on October 18, 2018!

PDF icon GOYFF Tribal Consultation Policy

Contact Information & Staff Listing

Maria Cristina Fuentes

Director, Governor’s Office of Youth, Faith and Family
mfuentes@az.gov
602-542-3463

Tonya Hamilton

Deputy Director for Grant Management
thamilton@az.gov
602-542-1760

Malcolm Hightower

Deputy Director for Community Engagement
mhightower@az.gov
602-542-3426

Alexandra O'Hannon

Program Administrator 
aohannon@az.gov
602 542-5483

 

Annette McGuern Brada

Executive Assistant
amcguern@az.gov
602-542-1773

 

Dawna Allington

Program Administrator 
dallington@az.gov
602-542-2391

 

Leona Morales

Program Administrator
lmorales@az.gov
602-542-1705

 

Randy George 

AmeriCorps Training Specialist  
rgeorge@az.gov
602-364-2678

 

Samuel Burba

Communications Director 
sburba@az.gov
602-542-6004

 

Shelley Baudean

Program Administrator 
sbaudean@az.gov
602-542-1714

Steve Selover

Program Administrator
sselover@az.gov
602-542-2393

Alfreda Moore

Program Administrator 
amoore@az.gov 
602-364-0501

 

Bob Shogren

AmeriCorps Director
bshogren@az.gov
602-364-2248

 

Diane Dudley

Program Administrator 
ddudley@az.gov
602-542-3482

 

Nikki Green

Director of Youth and Community  
ngreen@az.gov
602-542-1747

 

Rebecca Chesley

Program Administrator
rchesley@az.gov
602-542-3495

 

Sarah Mondragon

Executive Assistant to Director 
smondragon@az.gov
602-542-3463

 

Sonya Pierce-Johnson

Program Administrator 
spjohnson@az.gov
602-542-3496

Terrilyn Miller

Faith and Community Initiatives Director 
tmiller@az.gov
602-542-1798