Office of the Arizona Governor Doug Ducey
Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family

About Us

About

The Governor’s Office of Youth, Faith and Family (Previously The Governor’s Office For Children, Youth and Families) has transitioned through several Administrations promoting efforts to improve the lives of all our citizens by providing resources and promoting citizen engagement.

Today the office is dedicated to achieving the vision of Governor Doug Ducey of strong, healthy and connected families.

Meet our Director!

Maria Cristina Fuentes serves as Director of the Governor's Office of Youth, Faith and Family.

GOYFF serves vulnerable communities to help prevent and address 5 key areas: child safety, human trafficking, domestic and sexual violence, juvenile justice and substance abuse. Additionally, the office works to strengthen service and volunteerism through the AmeriCorps program and faith-based community engagement.

Previous to Ms. Fuentes appointment, she worked at Casey Family Programs, where she furthered the foundation’s mission to safely reduce the number of children in foster care and improve well-being outcomes of children and families.

Before Ms. Fuentes time at Casey Family Programs, Fuentes served six years in the Administration of President George W. Bush in the U.S. Departments of Labor and Justice. Ms. Fuentes also served in the White House Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives working to help states across the country develop and establish their own faith-based initiatives.

To request to have Director Maria Cristina Fuentes to speak at your event click here.  

Vision

Arizona’s youth and families will become healthier, educated and more productive citizens.

Mission

We create a brighter future for youth and families by providing Arizona with programming, resources and expertise.
The Governor’s Office of Youth, Faith and Family (GOYFF) is staffed by individuals dedicated to improving the lives of all individuals in our state and our communities with each staff member having and expertise in one or more of the following issue areas:

  • Substance Abuse Prevention and Drug Education
  • Human Trafficking
  • Violence Prevention
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Faith and Community Initiatives
  • Community Service and Volunteerism
  • AmeriCorps
  • Youth Service

To achieve our mission GOYFF convenes and staffs the following Commissions, Councils, Partnerships, Task Forces and Work Groups:

  • Arizona Human Trafficking Council
  • Arizona Juvenile Justice Commission
  • Arizona Parents Commission on Drug Education and Prevention
  • Arizona Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Tool Kit Task Force
  • Arizona Substance Abuse Partnership
  • Arizona Substance Abuse Task Force
  • Council on Child Safety and Family Empowerment
  • Commission To Prevent Violence Against Women
  • Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism
  • Governor’s Youth Commission
  • Substance Abuse Epidemiology Work Group
Contact Information & Staff Listing

Maria Cristina Fuentes

Director, Governor’s Office of Youth, Faith Family
mfuentes@az.gov
602-542-1773

Tonya Hamilton

Deputy Director for Grant Management
thamilton@az.gov
602-542-1760

Malcolm Hightower

Deputy Director for Community Engagement
mhightower@az.gov
602-542-3426

Dawna Allington

Program Administrator 
dallington@az.gov
602-542-2391

 

Annette McGuern Brada

Executive Assistant
amcguern@az.gov
602-542-1773

 

Rebecca Chesley

Program Administrator
rchesley@az.gov
602-542-3495

 

Randy George 

AmeriCorps Training Specialist  
rgeorge@az.gov
602-364-2678

 

Terrilyn Miller

Faith and Community Initiatives, Director 
tmiller@az.gov
602-542-1798

 

Alexandra O'Hannon

Program Administrator 
aohannon@az.gov
602 542-5483

 

Steve Selover

Program Administrator
sselover@az.gov
602-542-2393

Shelley Baudean

Program Administrator - ASPIRE
sbaudean@az.gov
602-542-1714

 

Samuel Burba

Communications Director 
sburba@az.gov
602-542-6004

 

Diane Dudley

AmeriCorps Program Administrator 
ddudley@az.gov
602-542-3482

 

Nikki Green

Program Administrator 
ngreen@az.gov
602-542-1747

 

Sarah Mondragon

Administrative Assistant 
smondragon@az.gov
602-542-3463

 

Sonya Pierce-Johnson

Program Administrator 
spjohnson@az.gov
602-542-3496

 

Bob Shogren

AmeriCorps, Director
bshogren@az.gov
602-364-2248